This article covers some behavior to be aware of when updating rules or its components.
A rule will automatically use any changes made to the patterns or outcome it uses. Similarly, deleting a pattern or outcome will be remove them from any associated rule.
However, the changes will not automatically reclassify existing records - these records will retain their current classification, even if matching a new rule after the changes. This will be updated once the records are resubmitted, whether it be from whatever triggers an item submission from the Active Site or with the "Resubmit Item" button from the RecordPoint ribbon.
Example: Let's say we have a rule that uses an outcome with a disposal period of 3 years from a document's creation date. Any existing records that have already been classified by this rule will have its disposal action due date properly calculated for 3 years after its creation date and the classification for the outcome applied.
If the outcome is updated so that the disposal period is changed to 7 years instead of 3, the disposal date for the existing records will not be recalculated automatically and will remain set for 3 years after its creation date. In order for this to be updated, the records must be resubmitted.
Alternatively, let's say the pattern for that rule is edited so that items previously classified by this rule no longer match it. These items will not have their classification removed automatically - they will need to be resubmitted for this to happen.